Photograph of the building taken in 2005 by Mike and Kirsty Grundy. Source:




Blackburn Orphanage was built by James Dixon in 1886. There was originally a boys' orphnage and a girls' orphanage side by side.


We have received the following update from Child Action Northwest:


"We have a rich history and detailed records; meticulously kept by James Dixon himself, dating back to before 1891. We have done several projects relating to the heritage of the orphanage. The girls building is still here today and is the Head Office of the charity Child Action Northwest. We still work with children and young people in the area who are affected by the same sort of issues that caused children to be admitted to the Orphanage 120 years ago."





         Home page
        Why all the adverts?